Topic: First Deck

Hey, this is my first deck. i actually made another one but it had way too many cards in it. but since i am new to the deck building process i will take any opinions and suggestions regarding this deck. thanx in advance!!

Vampiric Rage

Re: First Deck

First of all tell us wether it is an Extended, Modern or Standard deck. Most of its cards are Standard legal but cards like Vampire Nighthawk and Quag Sickness make it Extended.

According to "Deckbox" it is a: "complete [black, red] Extended deck". Other than that I'm not entirely sure. I am really new to Magic and don't really know a whole lot. Honestly I didn't know there was a real difference between decks other than plainswalker versions.

Last edited by spyder5555 (2011-12-19 12:55:41)

Interesting mix of cards. I like the theme you're going with. I'm not terribly good at deck construction, but here are some of my thoughts:

The Vampire Nighthawks for example are rather quite amazing. Get rid of the 2 Markov Patrician and put in more Nighthawks. They both costs three mana, but the nighthawks will last longer and are more of a threat with their death touch. Gatekeeper of Malakir are useful too.

Malakir Bloodwitch and Anowon, the Blood Sage would bet better choices for your high mana cost spots. The Bloodline Keeper from the latest expansion would work nicely too.

Look into Urge to Feed instead of Dead Weight. It can still kill something small, and can make your creatures bigger. However, as Dismember would work better, but they're most expensive to buy.

Might want to add another couple of lands. See how it plays out though, might not be a problem, most of your cards have low mana costs.

You've only got 10 red cards, I'd almost consider taking them all out and sticking only to black cards. Into the Maw of Hell and Night Reveleres are rather expensive for what they do. Better to find another more useful vampire, and add another cheap kill card. A Go for the Throat or two perhaps.