Marvel's Spider Man
releases on September 26, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer

Marvel's Spider Man
releases on September 26, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer
3 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply
Posts [ 1 to 3 ]
Trade score 0 (100%)
Community Admins
Registered: 12-Apr-2011 05:54
Posts: 10
Can you activate activated abilities if the permanent is tapped ?

I think yes, because there's no rules that prohibit it. Need to confirm it
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 15-Sep-2009 06:57
Posts: 756
29-Apr-2011 19:11 (Last edited: 29-Apr-2011 19:12)
2
actually... it depends. Activated abilities have two parts: the cost and the ability itself. The COST is the part on the left side of the ' : ' and the ability on the right side.
You can activate such ability any time you can pay its cost!!! (and of course are not prohibited by any other means like: Arrest or Linvala, Keeper of Silence )

Taping can be part of a cost, signaled by the little turning arrow , ex: Prodigal Pyromancer
others don't have that: Spikeshot Elder

If the cost does not include taping the permanent (that you can't pay with an already tapped permanent), then you can activate the ability (after paying the FULL cost), other vise, you can't.

So from my example, you can't activate the ability of a tapped Prodigal Pyromancer but you can with Spikeshot Elder
Trade score 0 (100%)
Community Admins
Registered: 12-Apr-2011 05:54
Posts: 10
Thank you Spoook for the answer, it will be useful in my future games.
Posts [ 1 to 3 ]
3 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply