Avatar: The Last Airbender
releases on November 21, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer

Avatar: The Last Airbender
releases on November 21, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer
5 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply
Posts [ 1 to 5 ]
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 25-Apr-2010 15:12
Posts: 15
Scenario: a person has a Doomsayer of Morr "When an opponent's unit is destroyed, draw a card" and the other player has Slave Pen "Sacrifice a unit to put a resource token on this card".

Debated already on the assigned damage to a unit that can then be sacrificed per Slave Pen, but the damage just disappears and is not redirected to a card that is still in play.

Anyway, since the Doomsayer card describes the action of "destroyed" do they still get to draw a card if I choose to "sacrifice" it instead?
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 20-Aug-2010 21:49
Posts: 21
MovingTarget wrote:Scenario: a person has a Doomsayer of Morr "When an opponent's unit is destroyed, draw a card" and the other player has Slave Pen "Sacrifice a unit to put a resource token on this card".

Debated already on the assigned damage to a unit that can then be sacrificed per Slave Pen, but the damage just disappears and is not redirected to a card that is still in play.

Anyway, since the Doomsayer card describes the action of "destroyed" do they still get to draw a card if I choose to "sacrifice" it instead?

No, from the official rules:
Destroy: Destroy means to put a card that is in play into its owner’s discard pile. It is important to note that sacrificing a unit is not destroying it and vice versa.

You choose to 'sacrifice', so the Doomsayers ability does not trigger.
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 08-Nov-2010 02:36
Posts: 78
is it like

to sacrifice means that the card gets kinda destroyed, since it leaves play and moves to the pile,
but the sacrifice unables all actions that any player would want to take on this card from the moment the sacrifice is spoken, except the landing on the pile itself
and after landing its free again since the sacrificing is accomplished and the card counts as moved onto the pile???
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 29-Jan-2011 20:31
Posts: 11
Destroyed is when a unit is has damage on it greater than or equal to its HP.

Sacrificed is when a model leaves play because something says it is sacrificed.


Just because a card leaves play does not mean that it is destroyed. It just means it has left play. Those two terms are 2 specific keywords that define 2 different ways to leave play.
Trade score 0 (100%)
Members
Registered: 15-Aug-2010 20:43
Posts: 5
Check out the FAQ under rules clarification for Destroy:

It is important to note that sacrificing a unit is not destroying it and vice versa.
Posts [ 1 to 5 ]
5 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply