Topic: Brand New to MTG

Hi everyone. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I'm brand new to MTG (I've never played a game) and have only recently discovered this magical world via Day[9] on youtube. At the ripe old age of 30, i love the idea of building a deck, playing, tweaking, getting better, coming up with tactics and getting into the world.

My question is, where do i start? I've added all my cards to this site, done some trading and have a deck in mind that i found and i love the idea of (http://tappedout.net/mtg-decks/aggro-ha … eated-fnm/). I've started to gather the cards, but with the bulk of the cards being costy, i have to forge ahead with what i have. Does anyone have any basic ideas for me based on the cards i have? It's a very hard thing to get straight into if you have no friends who play and are doing it all for the first time.

Thanks again.

Re: Brand New to MTG

I had actually been thinking of a similar list although I also am lacking many of the cards needed to pull it off.

So, how do you get started in the game?  My suggestion would be to head down to your LGS (local game store)/LCS (local card shop) this friday to attend your first FNM (Friday Night Magic).  You're not going to play so much as observe.  Talk to folks, see what they're playing, how they're playing, etc.  Just soak it all in as there is a LOT to learn about the game to be really good. 

Then, proxy up the deck(s) you might want to run with extra lands and slips of paper telling what the cards really are on pieces of paper slid in front of the land in the sleeves.  This will let you test the deck to see how you like it before you go dropping major cash on it.  With any luck you can play some casual games with a few people and get some pointers.