Topic: Sacrificing dilemma

First of all, hello everyone!

As you can see, I'm new to the Magic community, and there's this dilemma that's been messing with my mind. It's about sacrificing creatures.

In this case, let's say I have two resolved spells in the game: death cultist and dross hopper .

If I sacrifice the cultist for the effect of the hopper, does the ability of the cultist resolve or not?

Thank you in advance! I've searched everywhere and haven't found anything. smile Maybe I've searched for the wrong keywords...

Have a nice evening!

Re: Sacrificing dilemma

I may be wrong as I'm not extremely well versed in the rules, but I believe it is as follows:

For both of these cards, Sacrificing a Creature is a payment, you do not sacrifice at the time the spell resolves, payments for abilities and spells do not use the stack, they happen instantaneously when you need to pay for the spell or abilities, before they go on the stack, and then later, resolve.  As such, if you sacrifice the death cultist to the dross hopper (at which point the gain flying ability goes on the stack,) there is no time to sacrifice the death cultist for any other purpose.

Now if the death cultist said "if death cultist is sacrificed, you may..." it would be a triggered ability, and you would be able to use that ability.

I had a hunch that's the right way, but I was hoping it's the other way around (both abilities activate) big_smile greedy little fella' I am... ^^

Well, good to know the exact way it goes around. Thank you for the reply!

vladprunas wrote:

I had a hunch that's the right way, but I was hoping it's the other way around (both abilities activate) big_smile greedy little fella' I am... ^^

Well, good to know the exact way it goes around. Thank you for the reply!

This is correct.
In magic you cannot sacrifice 1 object to several effects.

In this case they are both payments (costs) for an ability.