Marvel's Spider Man
releases on September 26, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer

Marvel's Spider Man
releases on September 26, 2025!

Preorder now on CardKingdom Preorder now on TcgPlayer
5 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply
Posts [ 1 to 5 ]
Trade score 33 (100%)
Members
Registered: 24-Aug-2013 13:52
Posts: 15
A friend and i was talking about commander. We didnt know is this was possible but well just say it is. If you give your commander undying. When he would leave the graveyard by being destroyed would he stay with a 1/1 counter or go back to the commander zone? I say back to the commander zone he thinks it gets a counter. Which is correct?
Trade score 33 (100%)
Members
Registered: 24-Aug-2013 13:52
Posts: 15
I havent really played commander before and just started getting into it.
Trade score 702 (100%)
Members
Registered: 04-May-2012 02:27
Posts: 271
I'm pretty sure the rules are that it's up to you whether you want your commander to hit the GY or to be exiled to the command zone instead.

I could see a few reasons to want to exile instead of getting the counter though, if someone's got an instant-speed card to shuffle your GY into your deck, or to take a creature card from any GY and put it into play under their control. Those can be played as a response to the undying trigger, so they happen before your commander gets reanimated.
Trade score 54 (100%)
Members
Registered: 07-Dec-2009 19:15
Posts: 106
18-Oct-2014 19:05 (Last edited: 18-Oct-2014 19:05)
4
Nighthawk wrote: I'm pretty sure the rules are that it's up to you

Yes, that's correct:
903.11. If a commander would be put into its owner’s graveyard from anywhere, that player may put it into the command zone instead.

Note, the player may put it into the command zone. They don't have to if they don't want to.
Trade score 33 (100%)
Members
Registered: 24-Aug-2013 13:52
Posts: 15
Posts [ 1 to 5 ]
5 total results       Page 1 of 1
You must login or register to post a new reply