Topic: First Deck Advice - Black / Red

So I made my first outline of a deck with some of the cards that I have...I'm new to playing magic, but I want to start going to some FNM's and see what other people are doing, but not get completely rocked. I've done a couple of booster drafts and done pretty well thus far, I've ended up going green/red both times, which is great as long as I didn't end up against something that requires straight removal instead of dmg based.

That being said I went ahead and built a black / red control type deck...I don't think there are a lot of tricky aspects to it..just remove and try to get creatures out there to swing away at what's left after I remove...I know the cards aren't the greatest and there are plenty of better options out there like Thoughtseize and lifebane zombie, which I am after just like everyone else...so what do you guys think?

http://deckbox.org/sets/498086

Thanks for taking a look!

Re: First Deck Advice - Black / Red

So first off, welcome to the game.

My first suggestion would be to go to your local FNM and just observe.  Depending on your local game shop's environment, you might be able to perform alright with a less polished home brew; however, if it's a more competitive store, you're likely going to just get destroyed.