Topic: Haven't played in a long time.....need advice

I have recently decided to start collecting again after a 10 year lay off.  i have a couple of premade decks in "endless dead" and "deathfed".  i saw a set called the deck builders kit for 24.99 with 100 land 125 cards and 4 random boosters.  any thoughts for or against this kit?

Re: Haven't played in a long time.....need advice

It really depends what you want to do and what you have access to.

I started playing MTG again about half a year ago and I didn't have any of my old cards and didn't have any friends who played MTG. Luckily, my local game store held weekly limited tournaments (where you don't need your own cards to play) so I participated there and slowly built myself a collection with the cards I've gotten through said tournaments and from trading, to the point where I can now build myself a nice constructed deck despite never having bought any cards (OK, except for one fat pack per set. I love fat packs)

They're not too bad - but you might also want to consider a Fat Pack.  In both cases the booster packs will be the only source of rares/mythics, so the Toolkit will get you more cards, whereas the Fat Pack will get you fewer cards overall, but more rare/mythics.

Both should contain enough land to satisfy your needs...

Just something to think about.  smile

thanks for the different points of view guys.  i have a couple of decent rares out of some boosters so far so hopefully that keeps coming.  i wanna have a few decks to play with so both options seem decent.  i have a couple of friends who drug out their old collections of 2k plus cards so i need a few options.  thanks again

If you can find a shop that runs Friday Night Magic (FNM) its a good way to see/get cards and free promos.
Drafts are good, as rather than getting ~45 cards (three boosters) randomly, you get 45~ of the colours and types you want.

Fat packs are great for a dice, boosters, and a box.