Topic: Complete Beginner

Hi,

I have literally just got a bunch of MTG cards from a charity shop and have logged them all on my profile, however have no idea where to go from here. I do have a few questions.

1) What is required to play the game?

2) How would I know which cards are better/rarer than others?

3) How should I store the cards?

4) Does it matter what series the cards are from?

5) What does the top right number mean on cards?

6) What is the difference between the forest cards with different images, as well as island and alike?

Thank you!

- SorcererArturo

Re: Complete Beginner

1)  60 cards and an opponent.
2)  Learning which cards are better is the experience of the game.  You can read up or you can play.  There are differences in rarity.  This comes in two ways.  In each set or printing, cards have a mark about half-way down the right-hand side of the card, under the art.  The color of this mark can be black (common), silver (uncommon), gold (rare), orange-red (mythic rare).  In addition, some cards get printed in more than one set, so this results in more of them available in the market.
3)  I store my cards in card boxes.  Personally, I put sleeves on my cards that are worth more than a buck, but you're free to do as you like.  For cards in a deck, sleeving is advisable for the entire deck.
4)  Depends on the format you're playing.  If you're playing "standard," that means only certain recent sets can be played.  Which sets those are changes over time, as new sets rotate in, older ones rotate out.  If you're playing in a legacy format, or kitchen-table style, you can play whatever you have.