Topic: First Deck Build Attempt (Dimir)

I'm new to the game (2 weeks) and have purchased several gatecrash boosters, a fat pack, did my first booster draft, and now am interested in upgrading the intro deck I originally purchased (Dimir Dementia). I also have a Wrack and Rage deck that I'd like to keep intact as it seems to play pretty well. I'm not looking to get super competitive, but would like to work on making a deck or two out of cards I've gotten out of packs. I'm not very interested in purchasing singles. I plan on getting most of my future cards via booster drafts. Maybe I'll snag a Ravnica Fat Pack at some point.

The deck can be found here, and in the sideboard I placed all the blue/black appropriate cards I own.

http://deckbox.org/sets/320298

Any tips would be appreciated!

Thanks!
wpifarmer

Re: First Deck Build Attempt (Dimir)

To help out, we are going to need a little more information. 
Are you looking to go deeper into the Milling (taking cards out of the library and into the graveyard) theme?
Are you looking to use cipher spells?

Dimir can be played a couple of different ways.  Milling an opponents entire library into the graveyard for the win can be fun, but is difficult to pull off.

Dimir also has lots of creatures with evasion abilities (flying, intimidate, unblockable, etc).  Perhaps you want to build a more standard deck that utilizes these type of creatures, along with removal cards, and counter magic.

The Dimir pre-constructed deck is decent, but seems to be going a couple of different ways.  Personally I think its better to focus on one aspect and try to make that the best it can be.

Good luck,
Kaffieen

Kaffieen's comments are pretty spot on. You might give us some more focus on which way you'd like to go.

Also, if you're going Dimir, don't mess with Ravnica fatpacks.

You actually want to look at pack prices specifically, in buying cards. Fatpacks usually are the worst way to buy cards.