Topic: N00b Alert - Revised Edition 1st ever Deck? Ideas/Help?

Hi,

I'm a n00b for sure. Nephew plays and taught me over a few games this easter and I knew i had some cards in my basement from years ago that I never used. they are 99% revised edition. I'm studying now for the last week or so on how to play, how to deck build, etc, etc. Playing with iphone apps too and found this site and their app.

Anyway, ive got an over excited n00b issue and ive selected a deck which ended up being 80 cards haha. I tried to remove some but just couldnt, I just want to try it but I know it should be closer to 60.

Anyone want to look at my inventory (only a few hundred cards) and propose a deck? I like doing damage so maybe my request for a 1st deck out of my collection would be swamps and mountains based?

I'll update my 1st ever deck with little to no knowledge of the game soon, the 80 card version that is. Then reply again and let people give soem critical or laughing feedback to enlighten me more.

inventory - http://deckbox.org/sets/355149

Last edited by Buhtwipe (2013-04-06 16:16:55)

Re: N00b Alert - Revised Edition 1st ever Deck? Ideas/Help?

LOL here it is..

http://deckbox.org/sets/355330

My first quick summary look at it.. Looks like about 8 too many creatures, too many instants, a few too many sorcery?

ok, first things first. playing 4 color decks is very difficult to do without a way to produce multiple colors at the same time (dual lands or artifacts that can produce more than 1 color). Looking at your land numbers and spell cost, you have 2 Islands and 1 Forest. With only 3 spells for green (Channel and Fastbond) and 1 forest in the deck, Channel will never be able to be played. I would pull all 3 cards. You also have 2 blue spells (Counterspell and Control Magic) with 2 Islands in the deck. The rarity of you playing both islands AND a blue spell is very rare in this combination. I would pull those 4 as well.